Displaying errors in colour

Hi, I love language tool, but would love it more if the errors were displayed in colour just like on https://languagetool.org/ front page (with yellow indicating one category of errors, red - another and blue or green yet another one).

Any rumours on programmers’ plans to change it?

Underlining errors with blue and red “ribbons” isn’t the best solution - I can hardly see them.

That’s actually possible, but there’s no user interface for it, so you’ll need to edit .languagetool.cfg manually. For example, adding

errorColors=typographical:#b8b8ff, style:#ffb8b8

will show typographical errors with a blue background and style errors with a red background in the upper part of the LT window. typographical and style are the types that are set in grammar.xml as type=.... Note that you should only edit the languagetool.cfg file when LT is not running.

Hi Daniel,
thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately I’m a complete novice.
Is this the way I should edit the file you write about?

Yes, that looks good.

Check it on your machine and tell me if it works because on mine it doesn’t. I use Windows 10 and edited the file with admin rights, if it matters at all.

screenshot

It doesn’t work in LibreOffice. You need to contact folks at LibreOffice to change this, but don’t hold your breath. Nobody seems to be interested in fixing the grammar checker interface there.

I just can’t believe it - millions of users do NOT care about something that could revolutionize the way they use Writer every day? :disappointed_relieved:

Anyway, thank you for the suggestion: I’m going to turn to LibreOffice staff.

I was going to make an improvement suggestion on Github about this, but luckily found this thread.

@dnaber

I believe that LanguageTool extension is edited here, in LanguageTool project. Please, correct me if I am wrong.
Since the heavy under-the-hood coding is done, is there any chance of accomodating this request or has this been discussed already?