Error not detected in Chinese sentence

Hi,
I found several sentences which had the same type of error were not detected in LT.

For example1:

Wrong Sentence:

北京是一个好季节。

“北京” which is a place is the subject of the sentence. “季节” which means “season” is the object of the sentence.

The word “北京” is inappropriate to that word"季节"

Correct Sentence:

北京是一个好地方。

For example2:

Wrong Sentence:

夏天真是好天气啊。

“夏天” which is a season is the subject of the sentence. “天气” which means “weather” is the object of the sentence.

Correct Sentence:

夏天真是好季节啊。

These above show a classic type of error -“Words mismatches” in Chinese sentence.

I am a student who wants to participate in GSoC 2018. I think doing some classification in the Chinese words or adding some word-matching rules may improve the performance and accuracy in LT for Chinese Users.

Please give me some advice on how to solve the problem above?

thanks.

It’s hard to tell for me what the best approach is when not speaking Chinese. I think you should try to understand the different ways in which LT can detect errors and then see what works best:

Thank you for your reply.

I have read the material above and talked about the problem I invoked with my university classmate.

First, we think the sentences I said above are just “Born for wrong”. Neither a book nor a Chinese person will write something like that. But there actually exist some mismatches between verbs and objects when we use the verbs. Fortunately, I have seen some Rule implementation written down to solve this problem :smile:

Second, I find the spelling detection in Chinese is not as useful as it in English. I think we can improve the feature of lexical analysis in Chinese sentences then using the synonyms association technique to make the spelling detection better.

For example,
Wrong Sentences: Hanzi / Pinyin romanization
我 每天 睡交。/ Wo Meitian Shuijiao.
我 每天 跳无。/ Wo Meitian Tiaowu.
Correct Sentences: Hanzi / Pinyin romanization