[sv] How do I prevent spelling mistakes from including punctuation?

I’m using LanguageTool to perform some spell checking of Swedish text, but I’ve noticed that matches include adjacent punctuation, e.g. “Pnkt.” will list the match as 5 characters long.

But when using English punctuation is not included, .e.g. “Dott.” will be listed as 4 characters long.

I’m quite new to LanguageTool, so I have no idea where to start looking, but I am a developer, so with a little help I hope to be able to fix it.

Hi Martin,

this is caused by WORDCHARS -0123456789.: in sv_SE.aff. Not sure what side effects you get if you remove the dot from that line. It doesn’t happen in English as LT uses a different approach there, namely a binary (Morfologik) dictionary instead of the plain text hunspell dictionaries used for Swedish.

You could try removing the dot and see if the tests (mvn test) still work.

Hi Daniel!

Thanks for the suggestion - it seems to work great! All the tests pass, and I did some manual testing that seemed to work. I created a pull request on github with the change.

Do you know why this was included to start with? At first I thought that it might be to allow for . in abbreviations such as “t.ex.” but that doesn’t seem to work even before the change. That is, the parser thinks that the word after the abbreviation is the start of a new sentence, which it not always is.

I tried to use the rule editor, but couldn’t get it to parse the abbreviation as a word in the sentence and not the end of the sentence. But perhaps I should open up another issue regarding that?

I’s just the original .aff file we’re using here, other languages like German include it because there are abbreviations like bzw. where the dot is part of the word. Here are some words from Swedish that end with a dot, do they still work as expected?

nov.
o.d.
okt.
ons.
o.s.a.
o.s.v.
p.g.a.
sek.
sep.
sept.

Not sure what exactly you mean. Feel free to describe it here or open an issue.