Introduction

To whom it may concern,

I am a sophomore pursuing a bachelor’s of science degree in mathematics. I teach mathematics, computer science, and English at my college while I attend class full time. I am top-ranked in my classes and always have been in my college courses.

I am very interested in LanguageTool. I have definitely practiced quite a bit with the concepts involved in many of the ideas. Specifically, fixing bugs and comparing spellers would be expedient tasks from the short tasks list. Also from the medium tasks list, the improve neural network rules, extend AI approach, improve spell checker suggestions, improve performance, and enhance quality and speed of English chunking would all be great projects to work on from my perspective right now. I am open to the long-term ideas as well as other ideas from the other lists.

What are the best next steps to proceed? Please let me know how I can get involved and start the process. This all looks very exciting. I am completely committed and zealous about this opportunity.

Thanks,
David Sult

Hi David,

thanks for your interest in LanguageTool (and GSoC, I assume). The best way to improve an Open Source software is to use it, and fix the bugs/issues one encounters. For a GSoC application, we expect you to provide a prototype of a feature or at least a pull request that fixes a bug.

When it comes to the main task for GSoC: I suggest you select the one you like best and research more about it. You can ask questions here. When sending in an application, you’ll also need to specify a detailed roadmap, so you should use your research to estimate the size of a task. For example, performance optimization is probably not something one wants to spend 3 months on.

Dear dnaber,