Suggestion for Italian Regola "eufoniche"

This is a good rule because if properly implemented it is simple yet 100% reliable, and helps polish and normalize Italian texts to modern standards in this respect.

From what I saw, it is currently limited to “E” (as in “ed”). I propose to extend it to “A” and “O” (as in “ad” and “od”), allowing for these two commonly accepted exceptions:

• “ad es” (including “ad es.”)
  • “ad esempio”

If the same rule cannot be extended to cover the three cases, I propose to duplicate it, renaming the resulting three rules as follows:

• Regola D eufonica ("ad)
  • Regola D eufonica (“ed”)
  • Regola D eufonica (“od”)

(only the “ad” rule needs the exceptions)

Reference:

I am no LanguageTool expert, but it seems like there currently are several “eufoniche” rules, of which I had a look at the variants for “e”, “a”, “o”:

• The “e” case looks good
  • The “a” case includes the exception for “esempio”, but I would also add the abbreviation “es.” as an allowed exception
  • The “o” case looks wrong, even suggesting a correction to “ed ogni” (in violation of the “e” rule) for the example “Puoi vederlo ogni mattina o ogni sera.”

In all cases, the tool flags as a warning perfectly good Italian, like “e entrando”, “a esempio”, etc. These do not need to be marked in writing. I would propose that the tool only flag cases where the “d” needs to be removed (there is never a need to add, only to remove). Let the writer decide the rest. A “d” can be safely flagged or even auto-removed by a rule, but not added (this is much more complicated, and best done manually).

Hi Mike,

thanks for spotting those problems out. I have a patch ready to fix them.

@Daniel: do we need a bug, shall i forward it to you or just commit?