A few questions for my master on LanguageTool and Breton

Hello everybody,
Firstly I really want to thank you for the great job you’re doing!
I’m using LanguageTool every day, and I think it’s a really useful software!
My name is Pierre Morvan and I’m now in my second year of master in Breton in Rennes.
I’ve chosen to study the ability of LanguageTool for correcting the mutation in the Breton language.
It’s very fascinating, but I’m not a software programmer.
My work is only to analyze what LT can correct or what LT can’t.
I’ve been working on it for a year seeing what can be done for making LT better than it is now on that point of grammar,
I’ve actually classified everything in a spreadsheet document.
I have a few questions to ask to you for my memory…

1. Does LT work on mobile phones?
  2. Does it work on Microsoft Office?
  3. Is LanguageTool one of the grammarchecker for Wikipedia?
  4. How can we do for ad words to the word corpus?
    Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

Hi Pierre,

thanks for your interest in LT.

Here’s a list of integrations: Software That Supports LanguageTool As A Plug-In Or Add-On - LanguageTool Wiki

@Dominique_PELLE will take suggestions for Breton, I think.

Regards
Daniel

Not sure.

Yes, according to
http://wiki.languagetool.org/software-that-supports-languagetool-as-a-plug-in-or-add-on
but I’ve never tried LT with word myself.

Do you mean a checker used when editing Wikipedia articles?
I don’t think that LT is used for that, but I’d love to be proven wrong.
Daniel Naber made a presentation at FOSDEM 2014
about detecting grammar mistakes in Wikipedia a few years ago.
See:

https://archive.fosdem.org/2014/schedule/speaker/daniel_naber/

LT in Breton uses 2 dictionaries as explained here:

• the Hunspell dictionary “Difazier Hunspell an Drouizig” (v0.13) is for spell
    checking only. It is not used for grammar checkin. LT uses this dictionary
    as-is. It makes no additions. Now if some Breton words are missing in that