Editing an existing rule?

I am an amateur writer of fiction and would like to use the 40 word sentence rule but find it unwieldy since it does not recognize a colon as a breaking a sentence into two separate sentences.

An example:

I found what the character was saying to be eminently believable, it was entirely possible that he held the secret and nodding in agreement, told him: “This passage is interpreted by language tool as being one continuous sentence, when in fact the use of the colon separates the passage into two distinct sentences, each less than forty words.”

End example

Is there an easy way I can modify the forty word rule to take account of the colon, and, if possible, semi-colons?

It’s probably not very easy for someone not familiar with it, but sentence detection is controlled by the segment.srx file. It’s documented at Customizing Sentence Segmentation In SRX Rules - LanguageTool Wiki.

Thanks for your reply, as you apparently guessed, editing the SRX file is above my pay-grade. To give an example of my level, it took me four hours to find the correct syntax for rules to correctly detect ‘And’ and ‘But’ at the beginning of a sentence, (see other post here: http://languagetool-user-forum.2306527.n4.nabble.com/Bad-style-rules-using-And-and-But-to-start-a-sentence-tp4641784.html )

As a thought, while researching how to write rules I noticed that LanguageTool error checking is hierarchical and it often takes several layers to correctly flag an error. How easy would it be to add an exception to the forty word rule that parse for the presence of colons and semi-colons?

Irvine

Does a colon always end a sentence? Or is it possible to specify when a colon ends a sentence? If we can specify patterns for that, that would fix your original problem. In other words, we probably shouldn’t add an exception to the rule, but rather improve the text analysis that the rule relies on.