[GSoC] Integral approach to Spanish

Hi all!

I am a last-year Computer Science student and I have been in touch with LanguageTool since the list of accepted organizations was published on the GSoC website. I have sent some pull requests, but then I had to do university work. Now I am designing my proposal, and I would like to know if I have taken the right track.

I was talking with Juan Martorell, because he is the Spanish maintainer, for knowing the state-of-the-art of that language. I think that he would appreciate some collaboration to improve the Spanish module, it is my mother tongue (even I finished Communication studies and got professional experience on it) and I have Java knowledge.

Over the last few weeks I have been thinking about some ideas to boost the Spanish language. I will give thanks for every advice, e.g., is an integral approach to the Spanish module enough as a GSoC proposal or would I have to add more features?

Regards,

david

Hi David, thanks for your interest in LT and GSoC.

It’s hard to tell - what exactly have you discussed with Juan? The main concern I have about a task not “being enough” is that GSoC is supposed to be about programming. So sitting down for three months writing rules in XML would probably not be enough from the GSoC point of view, even though it might move LT forward a lot. But when looking at the bug reports, or by just using LT, I think there should be enough other tasks than could complement rule writing.

Juan was very kind. He explained to me the roadmap for Spanish that you discussed on the SourceForge’s mailing list in the past. Also, he showed me this repository that he shared on the mailing list before.