Processing of multiple custom rules

I am new to using LanguageTool and have been enjoying the experience while developing a custom style guide. I have encountered an issue with my custom rules concerning the spacing around en dashes.

I have created two separate rules: one to ensure a space after an en dash and another to ensure a space before it. My expectation is that both rules would trigger independently based on their conditions. However, I am observing that only one rule triggers at a time depending on the sequence of checks.

Here are the rules for reference:

<rule id="NO_SPACE_AFTER_ENDASH" name="Space After En Dash">
    <pattern>
        <token spaceafter="no" min="0">–</token>
    </pattern>
    <message>Insert a space after the en dash.</message>
</rule>
<rule id="NO_SPACE_BEFORE_ENDASH" name="Space Before En Dash">
    <pattern>
        <token spacebefore="no" min="0">–</token>
    </pattern>
    <message>Insert a space before the en dash.</message>
</rule>

For example, in the sentence “The years of World War II were 1939–1945”, no spaces are around the en dash. I would expect both rules to trigger, indicating that spaces are needed both before and after the en dash. However, only the first rule triggers unless I manually adjust the sentence to add a leading space and run the check again, then the second rule triggers.

Could you please advise if there is a way to configure these rules so that both conditions are checked and reported simultaneously? This would streamline the editing process significantly I have already the rule rewritten as one but I am more concerned with better understanding the processing. Thanks for any help

Do they both underline the en dash? Then one rule will be filtered out, as most user interfaces cannot show two underlines at the same place. The only solution is, I think, to write a single rule instead.