Style guide suggestions: Allow more than 1000 rules and distinguish between languages

Heyas! I’ve been using LanguageTool for a few years now, and I’ve been a premium user since nearly two years; but only very recently I’ve started setting up my own style guide rules.

As of right now, my style guide CSV has more than 1200 entries, and I still want to add several hundred more, but I’ve hit the max limit of 1000.
While more than 1000 custom rules might sound like a lot, the vast majority of those rules are common words and expressions of my Catalan dialect. This also includes verb replacements, and each verb has 70+ verbal forms that are manually replaced; that’s the reason why my number of rules is so high.

I would want to know if expanding the style guide rules limit to above 1000 is something planned, because it would be very useful for me.

Another thing that I would like to suggest: the vast majority of my style guide rules are in Catalan, and the very few times when I write in Spanish, a lot of my Catalan rules appear, due to the many word similarities between Catalan and Spanish.

I wish to suggest a new column in the CSV file to specify which language or languages should each rule apply on.

1 Like

Hi Xavier. Thanks for your comments.

Regarding the limitations of the style guide, I will send your message to the product team.

Is there anything we can do to improve the grammar checker and avoid so many custom rules? For example, add new words to the dictionary, add more rules, or add more user options, that could be useful for all users in general. We are willing to make those improvements.

Jaume Ortolà

1 Like

Hello Xavier,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We’re delighted to hear that you’ve been enjoying LanguageTool thus far. Regarding the issues you’ve encountered with the personal style guide: