Using LT behind NPM (reverse proxy manager Nginx)

Hello everyone!

I am trying to correctly set LT up on a self-hosted Docker/Portainer server. I’ve managed to get the server up, but it’s only on HTTP (plain text protocol, at least I think so). Furthermore, I wanted to encrypt the traffic between my clients and the server. If I do the suggested curl test with HTTP protocol the result seems to be ok. But, it just plainly hangs if I try to use the encrypted HTTPS protocol.

I am using erikvl87 docker hub image. And the reverse proxy manager itself is nginx proxy manager on the same Docker/Portainer server. How can I solve this? I’ve searched around here for this peculiar setup (as well as around the web) but did not find much that I could base myself up on.

Also, I am an enthusiast and hobbyist. But quite eager to learn.

Lastly, thank you for your tool. It is really amazing. I am considering a subscription. It strikes me as a wonderful piece of software.

Cheers!

Hello everyone!

Using the information in this url:

I’ve managed to make it work.

Basically I had to add

- DOMAIN=lt.domain.etc
      - VIRTUAL_HOST=${DOMAIN}
      - VIRTUAL_PORT=8010
      - LETSENCRYPT_HOST=${DOMAIN}

environment variables, (in Portainer I used the load env from a file and added it in the compose file with the stack.env value for the env_file parameter), updated the stack, and, last but not least, I started to use the URL to the LT server without the port number, because that was already taken care inside the NPM facility already. Dumb me…:woozy_face:

Issue solved.

Thank you to everyone.

See you soon!

:sunny:

Hi there @McCurly,