Chinese part development daily record

Hi, I am Ze Dang, a sophomore from China.
I would like to do development in the Chinese part. I am going to work on my proposal outside of GSoC and will post updates here to the forum.
p.s. My English is not very well. I will be happy if you can point my mistakes in my text.)

4/26/2018

• Complete all the translation work in WebTranslateIt.
  • Fork the repository and download Apache Maven.
  • Since I have no experience in Maven, I start to read the Maven docs to learn about it.
  • Build resources by following the instructions.

Thanks for the updates so far! Of course, you can also use this thread to ask questions if there are issues (e.g. with Maven).

4/27/2018
I watched a series of videos to get started with Maven today. It took me nearly six hours today!:joy: But I think it really makes sense.
Here are my learning results.

• I understand what Maven is and why we should use it.
  • I get the conceptions of built and dependencies.
  • I make it clear that how to write a simple pom.xml and how it can find the repositories.
  • Some commonly used commands and what the life cycle is.

However, the videos show the examples by Ellipse. I think the next step I need to do is to learn how to use it in Intellij IDEA with our project and get familiar with project structure.

That’s probably not even needed. For example, I use IntelliJ but do all Maven-related work on the command line. In the end, it’s just the same small set of commands anyway.

Thanks for advice!

minor nitpick: “[de]” stands for “Deutsch” not “development” as you seem to assume.

Thank you! I have modified it.

5/2/2018

• Read codes.

I add a new dependency in language-module/zh/pom.xml. Then I typed mvn compile but it failed. Can anyone help me?

You need to call mvn install -DskipTests once in the top-level folder of the LT source code. After that, your command should work.

Thanks.