Interest in GSOC project

Hi,

My name is Pramodith and I’m a graduate Computer Science Student at the Georgia Institute of Technology. I am interested in working on the core AI aspect of the tool. I found the project of using a seq2seq Deep learning model to clear confusion between words and improving the spell checker project to be really interesting. I have experience using Pytorch and Keras for implementing Deep Neural Networks in Python. I’m also quite comfortable using java. I would really appreciate advise on what I need to do next to have my application accepted and also help in choosing the project that would suit my skills the best.

Hi, thanks for your interest in LT and GSoC. The simple answer on what to do next is: start working on it, plan the details, and report about your progress here. Also see what other are working on, e.g. at

Hi Daniel,

Is there a specific data set that you want me to use or can I choose whatever suits my needs best?

You can use whatever is available under a free license. It also helps of course if it’s not just available for English.

Hey Daniel, I’ve been trying to create a seq2seq model to create a toy version that can solve the problem. The memory constraints on even a small dataset of around 10000 samples with a vocabulary of 3000 words are far beyond my systems limitations which has just a 2GB GPU. I was wondering if we would be provided any GPU clusters or would we have to use AWS during the gsoc program. Also do you have any suggestions as to how I can show my work? The problem with making the dataset smaller would be that the Deep Net doesn’t learn as well it should. I will try decreasing these parameters and see how it goes but would welcome any suggestions.